Call for papers

Scope and Topics

In this workshop we aim at bringing together researchers working on negation and speculation from any area related to computational language learning and processing. The general goal of the workshop is to stimulate research about these topics. Specific goals are to describe the lexical aspects of negation and speculation, to define how the semantics of these phenomena can be modelled for computational purposes, to explore techniques aimed at learning the factuality of an statement, and to analyse how the treatment of these phenomena affects the efficiency of NLP applications. Finally, the workshop aims at encouraging discussion about the need of deep linguistic processing as a way to take computational linguistics a step further.

The wokshop will address the following aspects of negation and speculation, although it will be open to other related topics:

  • Lexical aspects of negation and speculation
  • Linguistic resources with information about negation and speculation: corpora, dictionaries, lexical databases
  • Descriptive analysis of negation and speculation cues
  • Negation and speculation across domains and genres
  • Negation and speculation in biomedical texts and biomedical text mining
  • Handling negation and speculation in NLP: dialogue systems, sentiment analysis, text mining, textual entailment, information extraction, machine translation, paraphrasing
  • Learning the scope of negation and speculation cues
  • Interaction of negation and speculation for evaluating the factuality of an statement
  • Corpora annotation: guidelines, bootstrapping techniques, quality assessment
  • Modelling factuality for computational purposes
  • Algorithms to learn negation and speculation
  • Structured prediction of negation and speculation
  • Joint learning of negation and speculation
  • Inference of factual knowledge


Authors are invited to submit full papers on original, unpublished work in the topic area of this workshop. All submissions must conform to the official ACL 2010 style guidelines and should not exceed 8 pages. Formatting instructions can be found here. All submissions must conform to the official ACL 2010 style guidelines and they must be electronic in PDF. The ACL 2010 Style Files for Latex can be downloaded from here, and for Word from here.

The reviewing of the papers will be blind and the papers should not include the authors' names and affiliations. Each submission will be reviewed by at least two members of the program committee. Accepted papers will be published in the workshop proceedings with an ISBN.

Papers should be submitted as PDF no later than May 23, 2010, via the following website:

Important Dates

  • May 23, 23:59:59 GMT+1 - Deadline for workshop papers
  • June 15 - Notification of acceptance
  • June 25 - Camera-ready papers due
  • July 10 - Workshop in Uppsala


Roser Morante, CLiPS-LTG, University of Antwerp
Caroline Sporleder, Research Group, Computational Linguistics and Phonetics, Saarland University

Program Committee

Timothy Baldwin - University Melbourne
Aljoscha Burchardt - TU Darmstadt
Xavier Carreras - Technical University of Catalonia
Wendy W. Chapman - University of Pittsburgh
Kevin B. Cohen - University of Colorado
Walter Daelemans - University of Antwerp
Guy De Pauw - University of Antwerp
Bonnie Dorr - University of Maryland
Roxana Girju - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Sanda Harabagiu - University of Texas at Dallas
Iris Hendrickx - University of Lisbon
Veronique Hoste - University College Ghent
Halil Kilicoglu - Concordia University
Martin Krallinger - CNIO
Lori Levin - Carnegie Mellon University
Maria Liakata - University of Wales
Lluis Màrquez - Technical University of Catalonia
Erwin Marsi - Tilburg University
Arzucan Özgür - University of Michigan
Manfred Pinkal - Saarland University
Sampo Pyysalo - University of Tokyo
Owen Rambow - Columbia University
Josef Ruppenhofer - Saarland University
Roser Saurí - Barcelona Media Innovation Center
Khalil Sima'an - University of Amsterdam
Mihai Surdeanu - Stanford University
Antal van den Bosch - Tilburg University
Michael Wiegand - Saarland University